Spaghetti Squash!

22 01 2014

Before I received this spaghetti squash in my CSA, I had never seen one before.  I had seen and pinned plenty of recipes for it, and finally got my chance to try one out!

I used some tips from the weekly recipe log from Alan’s Orchard and also from Martha Stewart to figure out how in the world to cook this thing.  I ended up poking a lot of holes around the skin, putting it in a cake pan and roasting it for about an hour.

2013-10-06 12.58.49

After it cooled down, then came the tedious task of shredding the spaghetti squash.  I got SO MUCH out of this spaghetti squash.  The hardest part was definitely separating the seeds from the strands, but after a while, I got the hang of it.

2013-10-06 14.30.052013-10-06 14.20.59

After that, I sauteed grape tomatoes, spinach, and zucchini [also in my CSA box for that week], added some white wine, and then some shrimp.  Tossed it all together and voila!

2013-10-06 15.41.30

For those of you considering spaghetti squash – go for it! The texture definitely isn’t the same as pasta, but I think it soaks up sauces better than pasta actually would, and it’s definitely a great substitute.  And one spaghetti squash gets you a LOT of spaghetti squash, so you can make it go a long way.

Happy eating!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

