Mac and Cheese!

14 12 2011

Oh man. I am SO EXCITED about this post!  I have been wanting to make mac and cheese for some time now, and always feared cooking with Lactaid milk (since it’s a little altered) where milk was a main ingredient.

However, my good friend Beth recommended this recipe to me (which we found on Pinterest, I think).  It’s a one pot recipe, which made it that much more appealing.  I decided to give it a try, and boy am I glad I did!  The nutmeg and mustard powder in this dish give it a great earthy flavor, and it cooks up in about 25 minutes, which is super easy.  Plus, the Lactaid milk worked out really well in the dish.

For the cheese, I did about 3/4 cup of pecorino romano cheese and 1/4 cup of sharp cheddar cheese.  Both have a really low lactose content, so they typically don’t bother my stomach/digestion too much.  I’ve made the dish twice in the past month.  The first time I steamed up some broccoli at the same time that I cooked the mac and cheese, and the second time I heated up some brussel sprouts that I had in the freezer.  Both were great additions to the meal and really filled it out.  I always like to have vegetables in my meals, especially  when it’s dinner, so it was a nice complement to the dish.

The second time around I used large shells, but I think I would recommend using elbows or similar sized pasta.  The large shells were just too large, I think.

Here are some pictures.  I highly recommend making this if you get a chance!

Happy eating!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

