Tilapia Cakes with Couscous

27 10 2011

Sorry, all. I haven’t been blogging AT ALL lately!  Mostly because I haven’t been cooking anything new.  I’ve been so swamped with work, grad school, and starting preparations for South Africa, that I’ve marked plenty of new recipes but I keep falling back to old ways.  I’ve been working off of recipes I already know, since I don’t really have more time to invest in trying out new recipes.  But I’m trying to get back on the new food train.  Here’s something I pulled together somewhat recently.

I found a recipe for tilapia cakes in Real Simple and knew I had to try it!  It was pretty simple – I cooked the tilapia through (and I pretty much always keep tilapia in my fridge), then cooled it, shredded it, and then combined it with some dill, mayonnaise, Dijon mustard, panko crumbs, and salt and pepper.  Then I cooked it for 2-3 minutes on each side.

While I was doing all of that, I cooked up some couscous and heated up some frozen brussel sprouts.  To make the brussel sprouts a little more exciting, I then sauteed them in a pan with some minced garlic.  It turned out really well and made 3 servings which was a nice surprise.  It was all really flavorful, and even writing this post, reminded me how easy it was, and that I should make this again sometime soon! Here are some pictures:

Happy eating!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

