Vietnamese Roasted Chicken (Ga Ro Ti)

3 04 2011

Finally!  Another Vietnamese dish.  I’m slowly adding these to my recipe book, although I am still the most proud of my ability to make pho.  =)

I found this recipe (link here) while perusing some food blogs and of course, sent it off to my Mom for her to look at it.  She approved, recommending that I allow the minced garlic to sit in the marinade for at least half an hour so the flavor would be in the marinade even more, so I did that.

It was pretty simple – the hardest part, really, was deciding on what thighs to get at the grocery store!  I typically only buy chicken breasts so I had to decide between bone-in, boneless, skins, skinless, all this stuff I normally never worry about when buying chicken breasts.

After that it was all pretty easy – I just had to marinate the chicken overnight, and then the next day I cooked each side in the pan and then broiled it to finish cooking.  The flavor that was infused in the chicken was great and reminded me of my mom’s cooking.  I served it with white rice and broccoli, of course.

Here it is

Chicken thighs in the pan.

Happy eating!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

