Salmon Cakes with Creamy Orzo & Asparagus

11 03 2011

The Show $10 Dinners with Melissa D’Abarabian on the Food Network is pretty good, and I happened to catch an episode where she made these salmon cakes and this orzo, and had to give it a try!

I’ve never worked with canned salmon before, so that was certainly an experience (to get all the little bones out) and then the process of rolling each cake.  I wasn’t happy with the consistency when it started out (I don’t have a potato masher – go figure) so I only had little slices of potato in the cakes instead of mashed potatoes.  Next time I’ll be sure to get a masher so it can reach the right consistency.

The orzo was much simpler than I thought it would be – I did have to keep it on the stove a little longer than the recipe called for, but I always anticipate everything taking longer than the recipe says.  Asparagus was on sale the week I went grocery shopping, so I just drizzled olive oil, salt, and pepper on the asparagus and roasted it in the oven while everything else was cooking.

Some of the salmon cakes came out a little burned, and it was hard to keep them together since the consistency was a little more runny than I would have liked them to be.  But overall the taste was great and when cooked the salmon cakes were really great!  I liked the taste and the orzo was a good complement to the cakes.  If anything I definitely learned something about how to make cakes like this (perhaps I’ll try crab cakes soon…) and can use this knowledge in the future!  Here it is:

Happy eating!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

