Chicken teriyaki

22 02 2011

I found this recipe while perusing Simply Recipes, and I put it right into the ‘asian category’ of the recipes that I keep.  A lot of the asian recipes that I find call for fresh ginger, and since I only cook two-three entrees per week, it’s hard to buy enough ginger before it goes bad.  However, I had a few people over for dinner during one of the snow days, and decided to make it with ground ginger instead, which I had readily available in my pantry.

Prior to this recipe I’ve never poached chicken before, and once I read the recipe, I was unsure how it would turn out.  Would the chicken be cooked enough? Would it be okay to eat?  What would the sauce taste like?  So instead of putting the chicken into the pan as the whole chicken breast, I diced the chicken so it would cook quicker and so I didn’t have to take any chances.  (The site actually edited the recipe I used, now saying to cook the chicken over extremely low heat for twenty minutes or so, to make sure the chicken is cooked through.)

The first time around (when I cooked for a few people) I didn’t let the sauce thicken enough so it was more saucy than I would have liked.  I made the dish again about a week later and let the sauce cook longer and it made a great thick syrup.  While the chicken was poaching in the sauce, I cooked rice and steamed broccoli at the same time, and everything came together right in time.  It got great reviews and I can’t wait to make it again!

Happy eating!

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 02 2011
Babygirl

Wow, I simply LOVE this chicken teriyaki recipe.. Thanks so much for sharing this. I have to try this immediately.

22 02 2011
Truc-Lan

So glad that you like it!!! It was SUPER easy and the sauce can definitely be modified to use with other types of fish and meat. The thing I like the most is that you could get this stuff out of a bottle .. but where’s the fun in that?! =)

21 07 2011
…and, we’re back! « Notes Of Orchid

[…] think I’ll be working on some salmon teriyaki, and then next week I think I’ll work on chicken teriyaki or maybe this pasta dish.  All good […]

Leave a Reply

