Momma’s Beef Stew

14 02 2011

As you may know, I’ve been slowly collecting my mother’s recipes and learning how to make them all. (Such as pho and pate chaud).  I’ve also been making a lot of soups since it got colder, like baked potato soup and Italian bean soup.  I finally got my mom to send me her recipe for beef stew, which was and still is one of my favorite winter meals.  Her stew is extremely flavorful and took almost two hours to make, but it was well worth it.  It’s also much less soupy than a traditional American-style stew, so we normally serve it over rice.  Sometimes I eat it all by itself and it’s still just as good.  Here’s how I made it:

First, I took some beef chuck roast (in small cubes) and browned it while caramelizing my onions.

Then I added in my stew ingredients – bay leaves, crushed tomatoes, beef broth, red ine, garlic, herbes de provence, crushed red pepper, salt, pepper, and sugar.  I let this simmer for a little over an hour.

After everything was simmered, I adjusted the amount of broth and tomatoes, and then added in my veggies – mushrooms and potatoes.  My mom’s stew normally includes carrots, lima beans, and some other vegetables, but I can’t really have those anymore so I could only include potatoes and mushrooms, which I am very happy with.  I let these all cook in the stew for 20-30 minutes and then voila, stew perfection!

Everything in the stew was perfectly cooked – the beef was tender, vegetables were cooked and had a great flavor.  I served the stew over rice and was very happy for the 4-5 servings that my stew made.  Yum!  It’s not too soupy which I really like and it tasted just like my mom’s.

Happy eating!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

