Quick lunch

11 02 2011

I find lunch to be pretty boring, honestly.  With my dietary restrictions it’s hard to find a healthy and satisfying lunch, especially if it’s a cold lunch.  Here’s something I eat pretty regularly if I have to have cold lunches.

The ingredients are simple – a roll from the local farmers’ market, turkey, bacon, and roasted red pepper hummus.  The hummus replaces mayo from a regular sandwich and gives the sandwich a lot of flavor and in my opinion, makes it a little bit healthier too.  I add some tomato basil Wheat Thins on the side for my snack – these are my favorite flavor!  I feel like the flavored Wheat Thins fill me up more since they’re flavored, but maybe that’s just in my head.

Add hummus on your sandwich this week!  You won’t regret it, I promise.  Here’s my lunch:

Happy eating!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 02 2011
Tina

A blogger I read makes salad in a bag mixes that she can grab and go during the week. They look delish and include all sorts of variety (asian style w/soy sesame dressing, mandarin oranges, grilled chicken and almonds, buffalo chicken with blue cheese crumbles and diced carrot and celery, fall harvest with roasted butternut squash, craisins and walnuts). I, too, find sandwiches to be insanely boring! What about a thermos of homemade soup though (when you don’t have access to or time for a microwave)?

11 02 2011
Truc-Lan

Sometimes I don’t have time to eat a hot lunch, such as when I’m working at PF Chang’s or if I’m trying to eat while doing other things and don’t necessarily have time to just sit and eat. Especially when working at the restaurant, I try to bring cold lunches to work so I don’t need to be frustrated when hot food doesn’t stay hot. I have to make do with what I can!

Leave a Reply

