Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

26 01 2011

The title says it all.  These cookies are as good as the ice cream, if not better!  These were my munchies of the month for January.  (Recipe here.)

I actually wasn’t always a huge fan of mint – my family used to love mint chocolate chip ice cream and I had coffee instead, and it wasn’t until recently where I recently started to enjoy mint (maybe it was because of the mojitos… hm).  My parents got me two cookie cookbooks for Christmas and a recipe for mint chocolate chip cookies was one of the first featured, so I knew I had to try it.  However, after scouring Wegmann’s, two ShopRites, Stop and Shop, and Target, the only mint chocolate chips that the recipe called for that I could locate were Andes Creme de Menthe Baking Chips.

They weren’t exactly what I wanted (I was thinking mint chocolate chip morsels), but I decided to give it a try.  I made one batch in late December according to the recipe, but the cookies came out pretty crunchy and not a consistency that I liked.  But, on the back of the package was a recipe for some mint chocolate chunk cookies using the baking chips.  I gave that a try, and they were perfect!

The cookies are just a tiny crunchy on the outside, but chewy inside.  Because the recipe has you mix in the baking chips before adding the flour, I think that makes the chips much more incorporated into the cookie dough.  The baking chips are so small that every cookie has such a great minty flavor without being too overpowering.  I can’t even count how many of these cookies I’ve eaten myself, and my housemates gave these cookies the ultimate seal of approval.  Here they are!

See the little specks of green?  🙂

Happy eating!

Actions

Information

One response

21 07 2011
…and, we’re back! « Notes Of Orchid

[…] the end of the week from my most recent munchies endeavor.  Just two weeks ago I made a batch of mint chocolate chip cookies, and a few dozen bacon chocolate chip cookies, as gifts to dancers in Philadelphia.  They […]

Leave a Reply

