Pate Chaud

4 01 2011

Paté chaud is a Vietnamese dish.  Vietnamese pastries very often have meat in them, so it’s like mixing your dessert with your other meals.  My mom has always made this dish, and it used to be my favorite thing to eat in the morning for breakfast .. she would have to take it away or I would eat the whole plate!  You can often find these pastries in Vietnamese delis.

The recipe is pretty simple – it’s ground pork, with some yellow onions, white pepper, pinch of salt, and pinch of sugar.  All placed inside a puff pastry and baked for about 15-20 minutes.  The pastries are brushed with some egg on top for that nice golden color.

My mom showed me how to make it over Thanksgiving break when I was home and then I went home and tried it myself and it turned out great!  My housemates tried it as well, and they were pleasantly surprised and actually liked it!  They’re always so willing to try my concoctions and crazy Vietnamese food that I’m trying out.

We used a frozen puff pastry because it’s the easiest to use.  For those interested in making this, I used one package of frozen puff pastry, thawed slightly, (but not completely so it’s easier to use manage), 1/2 lb of ground pork, half a medium yellow onion (finely chopped, slightly sauteed in 1 tbsp butter with a little white pepper), mixed with a little salt, sugar, and some more white pepper.  I cut the puff pastry into large squares, and put spoonfuls of the pork into the first layer of pastry and covered it with the second.  I used the back of a fork (dipped in some water to make sure it didn’t stick) and made sure all the sides of the pastries were sealed.  I brushed each pastry with a beaten egg.  Baked in the oven (350 degrees, maybe?) for about 15-20 minutes until they were golden around the edges.

And here they are!  Mine were pretty big, but I could make them smaller and bake them for less time if I wanted.

Cooling on the baking sheet:

One:

The inside so you can see the pork.  Then my housemates devoured this one!

Happy eating!

Actions

Information

One response

14 02 2011
Momma’s Beef Stew « Notes Of Orchid

[…] been slowly collecting my mother’s recipes and learning how to make them all. (Such as pho and pate chaud).  I’ve also been making a lot of soups since it got colder, like baked potato soup and Italian […]

Leave a Reply

