Garlic soup

17 11 2010

I found this recipe a very long time ago (from the NY Times, too.. an odd place to find a recipe, I think) and found it stashed within the myriad bookmarks that I have on my computer.  It seemed very simple (and it was) and a great and quick dish to make on a rainy day.  I doubled the original recipe and made three small servings that were perfect for a light lunch.

In the soup I used rotini, which worked really well, but I might consider using an even smaller pasta the next time I make this soup.  I also think I could have used more garlic for even more flavor – I was scared it would be too garlic-y but definitely could have used even more.  I used frozen zucchini and tossed it in with the soup – the pieces were sliced the perfect size for the soup and softened up just enough when it cooked in the broth.  I don’t know if I tempered the egg the correct way at the last step, but I still enjoyed the soup anyways.

A great recommendation for a flavorful, quick, and easy dish.  I’m in a soup kick lately with the cold weather (and because my house didn’t have heat for a little while).  More soups to come!

Here’s how it turned out:

Happy eating!

Actions

Information

One response

11 01 2011
Chicken with caramelized onions « Notes Of Orchid

[…] served the chicken over some rotini (leftover from making garlic soup) and some frozen zucchini for some color and vegetables.  The first time I made the dish in the […]

Leave a Reply

