Jambalaya

10 11 2010

New Orleans is one of my favorite cities that I have visited in the United States thus far.  I’ve been there twice for service projects and the food there is fantastic.  One of my favorite restaurants is Mother’s – if you ever go to New Orleans, the food there is superb and classic.

Anyways, I had a box of Uncle Ben’s Jambalaya mix sitting in the back of my pantry, so I figured I might as well put it to good use.  When things are on sale, I’ll buy them and put them in my pantry for a rainy day (I actually made this on a rainy day too, while I was babysitting the leak that was in my family room ceiling).  Finally, I pulled together this semi-homemade recipe.  I had shrimp in the freezer (from another recipe) and then bought some cajun andouille sausage.  I bought a package with 4 large links and it was the perfect amount.  Then I just had to simmer together the rice, sausage, and shrimp, and voila! Lots of jambalaya!

The great thing about simmering the meat to begin with is that it really got to absorb the sauce and flavors of the rice.  Eventually, I’d love to be able to make gumbo, which is more of a stew … I’ll add that to my ever-growing list of recipes that I want to try.  My housemates will very often get the leftovers of my dishes as well, and they were very pleased with the jambalaya.  The cajun andouille sausage had just the right amount of spice and definitely made the entire dish really flavorful.

Here’s how it turned out:

Happy eating!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

